Return to Website

Myotonia Congenita Forum

This forum has been closed for comments.  You can still search archived messages.

Visit  the Non-Dystrophic Myotonias  Facebook Group

Myotonia Congenita Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: What Does everyone do and where are you from

Wow what a response I really enjoyed all of your winning attitudes and we should schedule a reunion or union lol of such in the future

Re: Re: What Does everyone do and where are you from

It is kind of weird that there are people so close that have M/C I have never met anyone face to face who has it and sometimes you kinda feel like you are the only one....untill this forum that is

Hi! I'm a newbie. I am really enjoying reading all the posts. I am from Rogersville, Missouri and bedroom community of Springfield, MO, home of Bass Pro shops. We are just 45 min. northeast of Branson, MO as well! I have never known another soul with MC except a second cousin, and an uncle who is mildly bothered with it. It comes from my maternal grandmother's family. Apparently there are other cousins (2nd's) who have it. My grandmother is one of 11 and I have not met all the 2nd's! Anyway, I am a 43-year-old wife and mother of 3: dd 16, dd12, ds10. I am currently a preschool teacher--2-year-olds. I have worked in social work most of my life, but stayed home for the better part of 12 years, having and raising my children and homeschooling for 7 of those years! Surprisingly, I am a pretty fast typist, one of the two things my neurologist told me at the age of 12. I remember his exact words (after he told my Mother and me my diagnosis 1976), "Well, two things you'll never be: a sprinter or a fast typist!" YIKES! Well, he was right about the sprinter, although I did run alot, and I love typing, primarily because you never tell me I CAN't do something! Now that I am older, though, I am more aware of my limitations and do have to exercise more caution than I was willing to do as a young