Return to Website

Myotonia Congenita Forum

This forum has been closed for comments.  You can still search archived messages.

Visit  the Non-Dystrophic Myotonias  Facebook Group

Myotonia Congenita Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
DO I HAVE ANOTHER DIAGNOSIS IN ADDITION TO MC THOMSEN

It has been very good for me to read this forum. When I was 18 yrs old, I had trouble letting go of door knobs. This fast quickly and had no trouble until 2003. I have,always, been a small person. I weighed 88 lbs when I graduated from high school. My muscles are NOT hypertropied. I was energetic, worked 10 hour days and came home to mow and wash the car. (One of those superwomen) I am now 54 years old, and had to recently quit my job as a Hospice Nurse. My story deals with pain. Pain started attacking me in 2003. Doctors thought is was my gallbladder and removed and perfectly good organ. But the pain ended. I learned latter that MC can attack the Gallbladder. Pain then attacked my left arm, went away and then attacked my left leg. Pain attacked many other places but my story would be too long to this what I have experienced in the last 3 years. I started to become weaker. Long story short - finally a nerve conduction test was performed and followed by DNA testing indicating that I had MC-Thomsen mutation in the CLCN1 gene. I thought "finally" someone was going to help me. NO! I have seen 6 neurologist (which includes one from MDA Clinic in St. Louis and I spent my own money to go to the Mayo Clinic. The Mayo Clinic neurologist recommened Dilantin and said I was not typical and she had seen Thomsen Myotonia this bad. (Pain-weakness-fatigue-stiffness) Dilantin helped from a while and now I am being attacked again with pain anywhere, at anytime and as long as it wants to attack and then just leave and attack another area. Two years ago, I could transfer a patient, ride a bike, mow the grass, etc. None of these doctors seem to be concerned that within 2 years I was losing my qual