Return to Website

Myotonia Congenita Forum

This forum has been closed for comments.  You can still search archived messages.

Visit  the Non-Dystrophic Myotonias  Facebook Group

Myotonia Congenita Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Myotonia Congenita and Pregnancy

Hello everyone. This is my first time on this site, my brother told me about it. Myself, my brother and sister all have myotonia, Beckets type. We have never experienced any serious events from this condition, just the muscle stiffness and inability to run on command :-) However, I am now pregnant, with twins, and was wondering if anyone out there has myotonia and has had children. Just curious about increased manifestations during pregnancy. I went to a high risk doctor, and he told us that pregnancy can exacerbate symptoms of myotonia, but that there was no cases of mytonia with twin pregnancy...apparently I'm the first...I hope not though. If anyone has any thoughts, or personal experiences I would appreciate it.

Thank you,
Mary

Type of Myotonia: Beckets

Re: Myotonia Congenita and Pregnancy

Welcome, Mary!

If you go to the search box above and type in "pregnancy" you'll see lots of posts related to pregnancy and childbirth with MC.

The high levels of hormones related to pregnancy often increase symptoms of myotonia. For some women that's the only time they experience severe stiffness.

Having MC doesn't put you at any higher risk for complications except for anesthesia. Since you are more likely to have a C-section with twins, it's a good idea to meet with your hospital/birth center's anesthesia team in advance to be sure you go over everything. Epidurals are fine and so are locals without epinephrine. But general anesthesia can trigger a malignant hyperthemia-type reaction that they should be aware of. I'll paste in the anesthesia protocol below.

Jan