Return to Website

Myotonia Congenita Forum

This forum has been closed for comments.  You can still search archived messages.

Visit  the Non-Dystrophic Myotonias  Facebook Group

Myotonia Congenita Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Rib Muscle Stiffness

It sometimes feels like a belt around my lower ribs that is just snug enough to be felt which will not allow a deep breath. If there is some physical effort which demands more oxygen then there is extra stress or even panic which means adrenaline and more stress.

Since I began limiting my potassium intake the tightness of the lower intercostal muscles still happens but only just enough to let me know that it is happening.

Type of Myotonia: SCN4a

I only get a difficulty with breathing when I suffer a myotonic attack on the muscles over my ribs. This is most likely to happen if I cough. Otherwise I don't have a problem.

Type of Myotonia: Becker's

Stuart:

I'm not a doctor but I'm just skeptical that such severe, constant breathing difficulties would be caused by Thomsen MC, or even the more supposedly severe, Becker MC.

I think that the one time I fell and had an episode of complete rigid paralysis, my rib muscles might have locked up to where I couldn't inhale, but I was able to breath again after I hit the floor and my muscles relaxed.

The one breathing problem I do seem to have on occasion, which I previously mentioned, my sister seems to have as well...in fact she has been complaining about it since childhood, but she's never exhibited any signs of MC, not even when pregnant.

I only know of two situations where severe breathing difficulty has been documented with MC. Certain medications administered for intubation can cause a masseter spasm and muscle rigidity in those with MC, which can lead to secondary breathing difficulties. And the other exception I know of is, there were some myotonic kittens a while back who's owner claimed died of breathing difficulties.